Testing Sensu Plugin - Error

When testing a Sensu Plugin to check mysql, downloaded from sensu giuthub plugins, I get this error:

[user@linux]# ruby mysql-alive.rb

Sensu::Plugin::CLI: Not implemented! You should override Sensu::Plugin::CLI#run.

/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/rubygems/custom_require.rb:31:in `gem_original_require’: no such file to load – mysql (LoadError)

from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/rubygems/custom_require.rb:31:in `require’

from mycheck.rb:5

The beginning of the plugin is like others that do not throw this error.

#!/usr/bin/env ruby

require ‘rubygems’ if RUBY_VERSION < ‘1.9.0’

require ‘sensu-plugin/check/cli’

require ‘mysql’

class CheckMySQL < Sensu::Plugin::Check::CLI

I am new to sensu and ruby and can’t figure this out.

Any help would be appreciated.

Also how would I pass options to the mysql-alive.rb script?

There are options in the script and I do not know how to pass the required parameters into it.

Thanks.

Sensu installs its own ruby that you can use for the plugins. Look for EMBEDDED_RUBY in the docs. If you put EMBEDDED_RUBY=true in the environment, it will use its ruby instance to run the plugins.

You can find the embedded ruby at /opt/sensu/embedded/bin (by default) along with a rubygems manager there. I sometimes use the installed embedded ruby and gem to install gems required by other plugins.

One alternative is to change the hashbang line to use /opt/sensu/embedded/bin/ruby instead of the system ruby. Not a preference, but it works.

Does that help a little?

Mojo

···

On Sun, Apr 20, 2014 at 6:07 AM, Jesse V jvardam@outlook.com wrote:

When testing a Sensu Plugin to check mysql, downloaded from sensu giuthub plugins, I get this error:

Sensu::Plugin::CLI: Not implemented! You should override Sensu::Plugin::CLI#run.

/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.8/rubygems/custom_require.rb:31:in `gem_original_require’: no such file to load – mysql (LoadError)

#!/usr/bin/env ruby

require ‘mysql’