RabbitMQ results - auto_delete=true why?

Hello,

Could someone explain why it was decided to use the auto_delete=true feature on the “results” queue?
If this is enabled, when all the sensu-servers are down all client data is lost and not buffered…

Regards,

Sebastian

Ok I have found some evidence as why it was activated back in 2013 (https://github.com/sensu/sensu/pull/614)
I think we should find a better compromise and let the user decide to activate this option or not, many people are now using Sensu as a metric collection / transport solution and losing data is not an option.

We now also have the RabbitMQ TTL (https://www.rabbitmq.com/ttl.html) functionality that could be managed through the policy definition…

I will open a PR for making this functionality user configurable.

Best regards,
Sebastian

···

On Thursday, July 7, 2016 at 5:08:56 PM UTC+2, Sebastian YEPES wrote:

Hello,

Could someone explain why it was decided to use the auto_delete=true feature on the “results” queue?
If this is enabled, when all the sensu-servers are down all client data is lost and not buffered…

Regards,

Sebastian