Sensuctl errors and questions - SOLVED

I’m completely new to Sensu and am trying out Sensu Go 5.1.1.

I successfully installed and configured the backend, agent and a couple of checks on a CentOS 7 server. Now I’m struggling to get the agent and some checks installed on a Windows server.

I get the following error when I run ‘sensuctl configure’ on Windows:
Error: unable to authenticate with error: Received an unexpected response from the API

I retried ‘sensuctl configure’ with a bad agent password and got the following error:
Error: unable to authenticate with error: {“Code”:5,“Message”:“bad credentials”}

I tried a bunch of other commands like sensuctl check list and sensuctl entity list and got the following error:
Error: Unable to locate credentials. You can configure credentials by running “sensuctl configure”

For fun, I tried running the Windows agent and it appears to be working OK. I used the example agent.yml config file modifed for my server and passwords. The agent runs and keepalives appear in the console.

Aside from the errors, my question is, is it necessary to run sensuctl on all clients in addition to the clients? What exactly does sensuctl do?

Thanks,
Dave

2 Likes

Hi @DaveO! :wave:

Welcome to Sensu! Super happy to have you trying things out.

I wanted to address the error you’re seeing:

Error: unable to authenticate with error: Received an unexpected response from the API

Typically we see this when folks have something between their workstation they have sensuctl installed on and the backend. A proxy tends to be the most likely culprit. Can you tell us a bit more about your setup?